Baked Eggs

June gloom has officially set in. All I want is to be at the beach but for some reason it’s cold and misty and generally gross. Getting out of bed at 5 in the morning to workout has been a drag, but I always feel super energized when I get home and can’t go back to bed. Usually I would make myself a smoothie and walk my dog, but in this weather I was looking for something a little more comfort food-y.

I dug through the fridge and realized I had some tomato sauce left over from the spaghetti squash I made a couple nights ago, so I decided to make baked eggs and oh. my. lord.

IMG_2283

They’re quick, filling, and so so delicious. I made some quinoa to go with mine to add some more protein, but you can serve these however you like. Seriously, here’s another picture for good measure:

IMG_2287

What you’ll need:
ceramic ramekin or small glass baking dish
olive oil
1-2 eggs (preferably organic/free range)
tomato sauce (I used San Marzano and added chopped basil, oregano, garlic, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper)
seasonings

How to make it:
Preheat your oven to 400. Drizzle just a little bit of olive oil in your baking dish and rub it into the sides. Spoon a couple tablespoons ย of tomato sauce into the dish and spread it around, creating a sort of well in the middle for your eggs. Crack however many eggs you want into the dish- just make sure to be gentle so your yolks don’t break like mine did. Put the dish on a baking sheet and bake for about 10 minutes or until whites are fully cooked but yolk is still soft. Season with salt, pepper, and any other desired spices and enjoy!

xoxo,
Kate “Making these again for dinner tonight. And no, I’m not kidding.”

One thought on “Baked Eggs

Leave a Reply

