(Healthy) Cookie Dough!

Hey guys!

Yesterday I was craving something sweet but refused to give up on my all-healthy food thing, so I searched the internet for a healthy dessert I could make with stuff I already had in the house. Everything required very specific ingredients that would require a trip to Whole Foods, so I thought I was out of luck. Then, I remembered this company that came to our school a while back that made healthy cookie dough out of beans. Honestly, it wasn’t the best, but I decided I’d try my hand at it and see if I could improve the recipe.

Good news- even my family liked this one! It doesn’t taste quite like cookie dough (obvs), but is high in protein and fiber, vegan, and gluten free (and still makes for a good dessert)

Seriously, is there anything better than a big spoonful of cookie dough??

Seriously, is there anything better than a big spoonful of cookie dough?

What you’ll need: 
2 cans organic chickpeas, rinsed well and patted dry
1/2 c nut butter (I used 1/4 almond butter and 1/4 peanut butter)
1/4 t sea salt
1/2 c dark chocolate chips (vegan if you need it)
1/2 c packed brown sugar (you can sub in other types of sugar, or 1/4 c. agave or
honey)
1 T vanilla extract
1/4 t baking soda
1/4 cup GF rolled oats (or not gluten free if you don’t care/don’t have a medical
necessity)

How you make it:
Put the chickpeas and oats in a food processor and process until broken up into small-ish pieces. Add the rest of the ingredients (except the chocolate chips) and blend until it comes together in a dough-like consistency and is totally smooth. Remove the processor bowl from the machine and stir in your chocolate chips with a spatula, then place in a covered bowl or container and refrigerate until chilled, about 1 hour. Enjoy!

See? Quick, easy, delicious and healthy. You really can have it all. The future is here, my friends.

xoxo,
Kate “Have we already eaten an entire batch?”

2 thoughts on “(Healthy) Cookie Dough!

  1. Kayley says:

    I’ve been craving cookie dough ever since I heard about Edoughble, but it’s highly caloric and a bit expensive ($10 each.) Good for a treat, but not something I can get now. I’ll give your recipe a try instead and see if it satisfies the craving!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

