Get up offa that thing

Growing up, I was always really active- I danced for 10 years, played golf, and was always moving and playing outside. Throughout high school, I had such a routine- I got up early, was super productive during the day, came home to a healthy dinner every night and went to bed as early as I could. When I started college, I got way off the schedule I was used to and it sent me into a sort of funk. I didn’t sleep as well, I was always tired, my joints started hurting more, I felt stressed and anxious, and just generally felt off.

Even though I eventually found a rhythm, I still haven’t totally found my groove again. What really did it for me was when I came back this summer and realized just how blah I’ve been feeling. My doctor told me I have multiple vitamin deficiencies, I wake up every morning by cracking every one of my joints into alignment, and I get out of breath within a mile of my runs (even though in high school I could run 3.2 miles in under 30 minutes pretty easily).

One of my goals for this summer is to totally focus on my health. I want my old dance flexibility back. I want to finally break that 25 minute/5k time. I want to finally be able to do an inversion. I want to wake up every morning feeling rested and ready to tackle my day. To accomplish these goals, I signed up for a group weight training class and made a calendar for what I’ll do each day to help get my groove back.

junefitness

I’m sharing this with you because I think it’ll help keep me accountable and I figured some of you might want to join me. I’ll be sharing recipes and updates regularly as well, but let me know if you’ve decided to follow along so we can offer each other moral support!

xoxo,
Kate “Just got back from first class & can’t feel my legs”

One thought on “Get up offa that thing

Leave a Reply

