Nightstand DIY!

nightstandmakeover

Yesterday I wandered into Paper Source, which is one of my absolute favorite places ever. I’m also incapable of going in without buying something, and yesterday I left with this gorgeous gold paper. I wasn’t really sure what I was going to do with it until I realized it was just big enough to cover the drawers on my nightstand, which has been bothering me for a while.

The knobs had gotten chipped from general wear and tear and the nightstand itself was just sort of blah, but I hadn’t found anything I liked more. Instead of getting something new, I picked up these pink acrylic knobs from Target and set about transforming my nightstand. The best part of the project? It cost me less than $25.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Fine grit sandpaper (I used an electric sander but you don’t have to)
High-quality wrapping or scrapbooking paper
Matte Mod Podge
Large foam brush
X-acto knife
Cutting surface (I just used a piece of cardboard)

Here’s how I did it:

First, take apart whatever you’re covering. I took the knobs off the cabinet doors/drawer and took the doors off their hinges. If you’re working with drawers, make sure they’re open and there isn’t anything inside.

Next, prep your surface. Sand so that the shiny outer coat is gone and you’re working with a smooth surface and wipe all the dust off with a damp cloth.

After everything’s prepped, cut your paper to size with the x-acto knife, leaving about 1/2 inch more than you’ll need on all sides (you’ll want this to create neat edges. Paint an even layer of mod podge on the surface, making sure it’s completely covered but isn’t dripping with glue. Carefully line your paper up and attach to the drawers/doors, smoothing it from the center out to avoid bubbles. Brush a little extra mod podge around the edges and fold corners down so they look neat. **Note that you might have some weird edges that are hard to cover (I did because of the hinges). Use the x-acto knife to make a diagonal slit in the paper from the corner out and then try folding the paper down.

Let that dry for about 15 minutes, then paint a thin layer of mod podge over the surface, sealing down all the edges. Give that some more time to dry, then paint another layer. I repeated this about 4 times until I felt the paper was totally sealed. Allow everything to dry for a couple hours, then reattach and voila! You have a brand-new bedside table (or dresser or whatever).

As a bonus, I used the little extra paper I had to cover switchplates that I picked up for 85 cents a piece at True Value. It adds a nice touch to the room and helps bring in the pattern from your new furniture in other places, so I highly recommend it!

xoxo,
Kate “I’m still peeling mod podge off my hands”

2 thoughts on “Nightstand DIY!

Leave a Reply

