Sick Day Necessities

Last Wednesday I woke up at about 7:30 am. Between then and 5 pm on Saturday I got a total of about 12 hours of sleep. When I woke up on Sunday, I was dead. Sore throat, runny nose, cough, fever, the works. Now that I’m starting to get over my cold, I thought I’d share my 11 sick-day essentials with you.

11sickdayessentials

So what made the list? And more importantly, what’s with the random stuff like onions and turmeric? Let me explain.

The List:
Low-Fat Milk, Turmeric, Raw Honey, Onion, Comfy Pajamas, Kleenex, Netflix, Airborne, Cute Mug, Herbal Tea, Bed (duh), and All-Fruit Popsicles.

Why?:
The milk, turmeric, and honey go together. As weird as it sounds, it’s actually delicious- slightly spicy with a hint of sweetness- and seriously works wonders on a cold. Find out how to make it here. Just be sure to use low- or non-fat milk as the extra fat can create more mucus, which won’t help with a cough or runny nose.

The onion, you might ask? I distinctly remember this one awful cold I had in middle school. I was complaining about how stuffy I was, so my dad made me take a big bite of a raw onion. I absolutely hated it and I’m pretty sure my breath smelled for a month, but it instantly clears your sinuses.

All-fruit popsicles are a great way to soothe a sore throat without added sugar and preservatives that will just make you sicker, plus the fruit has antioxidants and vitamins that will help your body fight illness.

Hopefully these tips will help you fight any finals-induced colds! Let us know if you have any good immune-system boosters in the comments below.

xoxo,
Kate “I’ve LITERALLY gone through an entire box of tissues already”

Leave a Reply

