Carolina Cup: Or, a weekend of Lilly, Pearls, & Floppy Hats

Well hey, y’all!

If you haven’t already picked up on this, Tay and I go to school in the South. This means there are a number of traditions that are totally accepted as normal at our school but seem bizarre to anyone else. Tailgating is practically a religion and involves a LOT of sundresses, bowties, and cowboy boots. We shag in the Spring (which, as it turns out, is a type of dance), spend months painting coolers for our formal dates, and spend one glorious day each year in Camden, South Carolina watching horses dancing on elevated surfaces in floppy hats and pastel florals.

Why? The Carolina Cup, or a massive tailgate attended by every big school in the Carolinas, Virginia, and even Florida. I’m told it’s also a horse race.

My Saturday started at 5 am when I had to get up to do hair, put on my pearls, and board the bus for the 4 hour drive to SC. I’m still exhausted, but it was so much fun. Without further adieu, here is a glimpse of the Carolina Cup:

my little my little

my little my little

shoutout to lambda for providing a killer throwback playlist

shoutout to lambda & this guy for providing a killer throwback playlist

image1-5

hehe here I am in all my lilly pulitzer-clad, pearl-wearing, sweater-tied-over-shoulders glory

11053913_803560789697732_4022381060080629648_n

AND MY BEST FRIEND FROM HOME CAME TO VISIT!!!

10996468_803560563031088_2497461325633527358_n

and then there was this kid whose tie matched my dress

If you ever get the chance to participate in something like this, do it- it’s one of those events that you’ll remember forever, even if it seems insane. I’ll be hitting starbucks approximately 70 times today and plan on taking a nap right after this, but this weekend was totally worth it.

xoxo,
Kate “all I ate on saturday was biscuits from bojangles and chipotle”

2 thoughts on “Carolina Cup: Or, a weekend of Lilly, Pearls, & Floppy Hats

Leave a Reply

