Essentials: Grocery Shopping & the College Student

I don’t know about you guys, but I tend to do this thing where I shop on an empty stomach and say things to myself like “Oh my goodness, YES, I do need these lightly seasoned organic yucca chips!”

Then I get home, unpack the groceries on which I just spend far too much of my monthly budget, and find I have 17 different varieties of quinoa (which I’ll never actually get around to making) and absolutely none of the things I need.

Taylor and I generally like getting our own groceries since our school isn’t exactly known for their food- we try to avoid the dining hall and eat in our rooms. As college students with limited time and money, it can be hard to eat on your own. We’ve essentially the mastered the Whole Foods/Trader Joe’s run and can now get in and out in about 30 minutes thanks to this master list:
idealpantry

Behold! The most useful thing I’ve ever created. I almost always have these 14 items on hand, plus a few other things. This list is great because a) you can mix and match items to create snacks/meals, b) you can get everything at a grocery store near you (just substitute brands), c) you’ll actually be getting the nutrients you need, which is GOOD because that means you’re less likely to get sick and d) everything is quick and easy to grab on the go.

Pro Tips:
Amazon sells a lot of food either in bulk or as a monthly subscription- I’ve ordered my favorite lentil chips that way and it’s cheaper/more convenient than a grocery store.
If you have a Trader Joe’s near you, take advantage of it! They have awesome snacks/frozen foods that are college-budget friendly. Their frozen pastas and Indian food are my fav- keep some stashed in your freezer for those nights when you eat dinner at your desk.

What about you guys? What are your must-have grocery items?

xoxo,
Kate “I’ve been looking at food blogs for the past 3 hours”

Leave a Reply

