TGIF: More Treating Myself + Cookie Dough Truffles

Hey peeps,

So I am basically alone on campus for spring break (sad), but I’ve decided to use the time alone to treat myself. Last night I went to bed at 9 and woke up without an alarm clock at 6- a little sleep does magical things. I spent like 2 hours working out since there was no one else in the gym for once, blasted Bills on repeat while I took my shower (which you can listen to here– it’ll be an instant fav for my fellow business majors), did a little homework and watched The Princess Diaries in bed with my favorite tea. About 5 minutes into the movie, I got an urge to make a snack but had no desire to go traipse down 3 flights of stairs to get to the communal dorm kitchen. I pondered what I could make in a dorm room with just a microwave and a fridge and came across these: cookie dough truffles.

Now I didn’t actually have vanilla, salt, or milk on hand so I ran to the on campus convenience store for a tiny carton of milk and took 550439052 packets of salt while I was there. While I do happen to have a little electric mixer, I was too lazy to get it out so I just used a fork to combine everything and it actually worked! As for the flour/sugar/etc.- I know they aren’t things you usually keep in a dorm unless you need them for something specific, but it’s fairly inexpensive to get some small containers of basic baking supplies and you can just keep them in a basket or box of some sort so you have them on hand if you want to make something on a whim (like cookie dough truffles or one of these amazing looking mug treats). Anyway, here’s the recipe I kind of used/eyeballed with a visual (my phone died so I’m missing a few steps but you get the idea). Fun side note: My desk was covered in stuff so I made these on my radiator. Here’s the proof:

image3
And right after I had dinner in bed because I don’t think breakfast has exclusive bed rights. I don’t play by the rules.
image5

Anyway, I hope you make & enjoy the truffles! Recipe and instructions are below.

xoxo,
Kate “Just ate cookie dough for dinner and won’t get salmonella!!!”

Ingredients:
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
Milk (between 2-4 tablespoons)
1/2 t. vanilla (if you have it)
1 1/4 cups flour
1/2 t. salt
1 bag mini chocolate chips

Directions:
Cookie Dough Truffles

Cream butter and sugars together in a bowl using a whisk, fork, mixer, or other fluffing device. Add salt and mix until combined. Stir in flour a little at a time until incorporated, then add vanilla and milk until the mixture comes together into a thick dough. Add as many chocolate chips as you want, saving some for the outside. Wrap the dough up or put it in a bowl and refrigerate for a few minutes. Once it’s firmed up a little, roll the dough into balls that are whatever size you want your truffles to be. Put them on a plate in the freezer so they can chill.

While they’re chilling, pour the remaining chocolate chips in a microwavable dish and heat them at 30 second intervals, stirring each time, until completely smooth. Take the cookie dough balls out of the microwave and dip them in the chocolate- you can just dip half or cover completely depending on your taste- then put them back on the plate and chill until the chocolate is set. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

